The Geauga County Juvenile Court handles all traffic offenses committed by persons under the age of 18. Regardless of the county of residence, if the traffic offense occurred within Geauga County, the case is heard in this Court.
The Court schedules most juvenile traffic cases on Wednesdays and Thursdays. Unless the juvenile is charged with a waiverable offense, an alleged juvenile traffic offender must appear in court with at least one parent, the juvenile's driver's license, and proof of insurance with the juvenile's name.
If the juvenile is charged with a waiverable offense, the Court will notify the juvenile by mail that the court appearance may be waived by payment of a fine and court costs. Proof of insurance may also be required.
DISPOSITIONS IN JUVENILE TRAFFIC CASES
- Generally, in any traffic case the Court may impose a fine and court costs; suspend or revoke a driver's license for a definite period of time up to 2 years; order community control, including probation and community service; order restitution in more serious traffic offenses; and order completion of traffic school.
- In addition to the general dispositions listed above, juveniles adjudicated for a second moving violation are subject to a mandatory 90 day license suspension; must retake the driver's license test; attend the Juvenile Driver Intervention Program; and pay a reinstatement fee to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
- In addition to the general dispositions listed above, juveniles adjudicated for a third moving violation are subject to a mandatory 1 year license suspension; must retake the driver's license test; attend the Juvenile Driver Intervention Program; and pay a reinstatement fee to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
- If a juvenile is adjudicated for OVI, the Court may place the juvenile in the detention center for up to 5 days; fine the juvenile up to $ 250, plus order costs; order community control, including probation and community service; order restitution; order attendance at a drug/alcohol program and/or complete an assessment. The Court is required to suspend the juvenile's license for a minimum period of 90 days up to a maximum period of 2 years. In addition, there is a mandatory BMV-imposed license suspension for 6 months without the possibility of driving privileges. The juvenile must also complete all BMV reinstatement requirements, including the payment of fees, retaking the driver's license test, and completing the Juvenile Driver Intervention Program.
- A juvenile who is adjudicated a juvenile traffic offender for committing a moving violation during the first 6 months of having his/her probationary license may receive a license restriction requiring the juvenile to operate a vehicle only with a parent in the vehicle for 6 months or until age 17, whichever occurs first.
- In all juvenile traffic cases, the Court assesses points in accordance with the Ohio Revised Code.
For more information and forms, press the links below: